Revision: The Story Continues

In September, I wrote about how I realized my “finished” manuscript, even though I was sure many times it was done, needed a quick revision. I had been reluctant. I’d been working on the book for a couple years, thought it was finished a couple times, and it took some soul-searching to go back in.
Boy am I glad I did.
There was nothing quick about the revision at all. I made some significant plot changes, changed the location of my fictional town, added back in some important voice and character things that I felt had been washed out in earlier passes through it.
It was a lot of work. A lot lot lot lot lot of work.
And I enjoyed every minute of it.
But that’s not the best part. The best part is that now I feel it’s the book it was meant to be all along. I realized I was actually happy no agent had picked me up, because the book wasn’t fully grown yet. Now I really believe it is.
I’ve never minded revision. Lord knows I’ve done enough of them on this manuscript. This last time, I feared I’d be so bored with the book by now that I’d do a half-assed job and end up screwing things up. I was thrilled to find I was so excited about my changes and fixes that working on it was just as addictive as when I first started writing it.
I’m looking forward to getting back to the second book in the series, which I’d put on hold months ago while I fiddled with this first one. Now I truly know the fist one is done.
I made the point in September that we may not be finished with a manuscript when we think we are and not to be afraid of revision. I realized two months later how really true that was, and how rewarding taking that final trip through the manuscript can be.

This entry was posted in Craft, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Revision: The Story Continues

  1. I love this post, Maureen — so encouraging, for those of us facing revisions this season! Congrats on your well-chosen efforts. And I look forward to reading the book!

  2. edithmaxwell says:

    Awesome, Maureen. I think it is so true, that letting a book marinate for a couple of months is a wise thing to do. Best of luck with it! I also enjoy revision, especially when I have enough time to do it justice (these days, time is in short supply in my life, unfortunately).

  3. Pingback: Revision is Writing II: It’s also required and relentless (and that’s writing, too) | Pen, Ink, and Crimes

Leave a Reply

