Never been to Crime Bake? Time to get cooking!

Those of you who are going to Crime Bake this weekend already know what it’s all about. So this is for those of you who have never been to it.
Five years ago, I’d been thinking about writing a mystery novel for a long time (like 35 years), but had stalled every time I tried. I didn’t know anyone who wrote them, didn’t know anyone who had any good advice. In fact, most of the advice I was hearing was “It’s impossible to get a book published.” Or a condescending “Oh yeah, everyone thinks they’re going to write a novel.” I’d checked out some books, particularly Stephen King’s excellent “On Writing.” But I needed more.
On a whim, I signed up for Crime Bake (this was before it filled up so fast). It changed my life.
Aside from all the great advice and seminars, I was surrounded by 200-plus people who either wrote mysteries, wanted to write mysteries or loved mysteries. All the sudden, I realized I wasn’t alone.
I frequently refer to it as my favorite weekend of the year. I’m not exaggerating. If you are about to attend your first Crime Bake, you are in for a great time. If you have never thought of going, give it a try next year. You won’t be sorry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

