Getting Ready for Crime Bake

I am getting ready for the New England Crime Bake next week. As this is my first time on the committee, getting prepped this year is a little different than in past years. This year I have some banquet stage management tasks, including making the awards for the costume parade. I am also moderating my first panel, which means reading books and prepping questions. The books aren’t a problem. I have a great panel, and am enjoying the reading.

But figuring out the questions to ask? How do I make sure to ask good questions for the audience, while giving the authors a moment to shine, and making sure the conversation flows? Fortunately, this is my tenth Crime Bake. And I’ve sat through a lot of panels. And most of the moderators made it look easy. But I’m not going to fall into that trap. I am doing my homework.

But honestly? Most of the committee is doing much more work coordinating this huge event. Especially the co-chairs, MWA’s Margaret McClean and SinCNE’s Barbara Ross. I have been on conference committees before, but I have never seen such a well oiled machine. The entire committee is volunteer, and most of them have worked on many Crime Bakes.

Crime Bake is co-sponsored by Sisters in Crime New England and the New England Chapter of Mystery Writers of America. I consider finding Sisters in Crime to be one of the greatest assets to my writing career. Serving on the SinCNE board is a privilege. And working with the Crime Bake committee has been humbling. What a dedicated group.

I also had a Sisters in Crime New England board meeting this past Sunday. Another amazing group. We have some pretty great plans for next year, and will let you know more very soon. But first, we have a conference to co-sponsor. And a lot of old friends to welcome, and new friends to meet.

As for my costume for the banquet? I haven’t even begun to think about it. Happily, it is optional. So instead of a Femme Fatale or a Lady Killer (think Lizzie Borden) I may go as a arts administrator/mystery writer/fan of Crime Bake.

See you on the dance floor! Or at the bar…

***********

J.A. Hennrikus is the Executive Director of StageSource. Her short story, “The Pendulum Swings, Until It Doesn’t” will be in Level Best Books’ BLOOD MOON in November 2012. Julie is the current Vice President of Sisters in Crime New England. She is a social media fan, and tweets under @JulieHennrikus. Her website is jahennrikus.com

About J.A. Hennrikus/Julianne Holmes

J.A. (Julie) Hennrikus writes the Clock Shop Mystery Series under the name Julianne Holmes. JUST KILLING TIME, the first in the series, was published in Oct 2015 and was nominated for a BEST FIRST NOVEL Agatha award. CLOCK AND DAGGER was released in August 2016. CHIME AND PUNISHMENT will be released in August 2017. Julie's Theater Cop series will debut in the fall of 2017. A CHRISTMAS PERIL is the first in this series about an ex-cop who runs a theater company. wears two hats. Her short stories have been published by Level Best Books: “Tag, You’re Dead” in THIN ICE, “Her Wish” in DEAD CALM, and “The Pendulum Swings, Until It Doesn’t” in BLOOD MOON. Julie is an arts administrator and arts advocate. She tweets her writing life as @JHAuthors, and her other life as @JulieHennrikus. She is an avid theater goer and a member of Red Sox nation. Her website is jahennrikus.com, and she blogs with WickedCozyAuthors.com and KillerCharacters.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting Ready for Crime Bake

  1. Nancy Gardner says:

    Can’t wait, Julie! Good to know I’m not the only one planning to attend the big bash in costume!

  2. Looking forward to Crimebake! All the volunteers always do such a great job — it’s my favorite weekend of the year.

  3. Beth Kanell says:

    Sounds great, Julie — and you can always attend the banquet in a Crime Bake T-shirt, right? Your panel questions will be perfect, I’m convinced. A little gentle anxiety feeds the process.

    And I am SO excited. This is my idea of a perfect vacation/work combo. Plus … I’m bringing the new book. Copies got unloaded from the publisher just in time to beat the storm. So many ways to get ready. I may have to violate my travel rule and bring the BIG suitcase, to support all the adventure ahead.

  4. edithmaxwell says:

    Great post, Julie. See you in a week! I just ordered a pair of red handcuffs for my costume…

  5. Lisa Jackson says:

    I am SO excited for the weekend. I know I’ll need the following Monday to recover, but not sure I’ll be able to have the downtime! I’m still pondering a costume, but I’ll be at the banquet, anyway!

Leave a Reply

