What Are You Wearing?

Sharon Daynard and I met recently to talk about the New England Crime Bake Banquet. Needless to say, plans are afoot. She wrote this post about her ideas for this year’s theme, Femmes Fatales and Lady Killers.

*********************

With the lazy days of summer dwindling to a close and fall peeking over the horizon, I find myself in Crime Bake costume mode. Just thinking about the possibilities for the Femmes Fatales and Lady Killers Banquet and Costume party has me grinning from ear to ear.

I donned a red hooded cape and blood-smeared white apron when I pulled a severed wolf’s head from my picnic basket at the Creatures of the Night costume party in 2010. I took second place in the Most Hell-arious category. First place went to a blood-hungry lobster wearing a black cape and fangs.

For last year’s Sleuths, Spies, & Private Eyes event I went the Murder She Wrote route, but not as the beloved JB Fletcher everyone in Cabot Cove turned to to solve the town’s seemingly endless string of murders. I went as Jessica Fletcher some years down the road, after the town folk had gotten their fill of bodies piling up and that unrelenting tapping of her fingers on the typewriter at all hours of the day and night. Undaunted by her downward spiral in public opinion polls, my Jessica Fletcher wore her favorite Cabot Cove sweatshirt and a HONK IF YOU ♥ HOMICIDE bumper sticker plastered across her backside. With a rather loud bicycle horn, she let everyone who asked know just how much she adored murder. I doubt, however, she was aware of the KICK ME – OUT OF TOWN noticed tacked to the back of her top.

So this year do I go all-out glam as Jessica Rabbit in a slinky red-sequined gown, mile-high stilettos, flamed red wig, and a white rabbit draped over my arm? Or do I take a walk on the dark side as Annie Wilkes from Misery? Nah, an axe-wielding Annie just about stole the show last year as she skulked about the ballroom in her flannel shirt and sweatpants.

I suppose I couldn’t go wrong in a classic black and white combo. I could let my salt-and-pepper hair go wild, smear red lipstick across my yap, and go as Cruella de Vil. Here’s hoping the judges are cat lovers…

**********

It isn’t too late to add the Banquet and Costume party to your Crime Bake registration. And though costumes are optional, they are a lot of fun. What are you thinking about?

About J.A. Hennrikus/Julianne Holmes

J.A. (Julie) Hennrikus wears two hats. With her arts administrator hat, she is the Executive Director of StageSource and teaches as adjunct faculty at Emerson College. Wearing her other hat, she is a mystery writer. Her short stories have been published by Level Best Books: “Tag, You’re Dead” in THIN ICE, “Her Wish” in DEAD CALM, and “The Pendulum Swings, Until It Doesn’t” in BLOOD MOON. She publishes the Clock Shop Mystery Series under the name Julianne Holmes. JUST KILLING TIME, the first in the series, was published in Oct 2015 and was nominated for a BEST FIRST NOVEL Agatha award. CLOCK AND DAGGER will be released in August 2016. She is a social media fan, and tweets under @JulieHennrikus. She is an avid theater goer and a member of Red Sox nation. Her website is jahennrikus.com, and she blogs with WickedCozyAuthors.com, KillerCharacters.com, and Write to Live/Live to Write (nhwn.wordpress.com).
This entry was posted in Crime Bake, Upcoming Events. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are You Wearing?

  1. Nancy Gardner says:

    Thanks for getting me thinking early, Julie. I always end up confused because I wait too long to decide….

Leave a Reply

