Beach Reads, Newburyport

We had a fabulous Beach Reads event in Newburyport two weeks ago. Four authors talked about their Imageown books as well as their recommendations for what to take to the beach this summer. I had fun moderating the panel, and the Book Rack was well organized and stayed open past their usual closing time for us. We auctioned off a beach bag that included not only signed copies of the authors’ books but
also a new beach towel, sunscreen, some lemonade mix, and a paddle game! (Beach bag photo by Jill Pollack.)

Sisters in Crime New England is sponsoring Beach Reads all over the region for the third year in a row. Readers and fans seem to enjoy the event a lot.

Here’s who we had in Newburyport (as viewed from left below), their latest book, and what they recommended.Image

  • Clea Simon: Cats Can’t Shoot, Poisoned Pen Press and Grey Expectations, Severn House. Her beach reads: Broken Harbor by Tana French and Bitter Harvest by Sheila Connolly.
  • Judy CopekWorld of Mirrors (June) Wings ePress. Her beach read: Under Oath by Margaret McLean.
  • Me (Edith Maxwell), who as Tace Baker will have Speaking of Murder out in September.
  • Susan OleksiwThe Wrath of Shiva from Five Star/Gale/Cenage. Her beach reads: Never Tell a Lie by Hallie Ephron and A Double Death on the Black Isle by A. D. Scott.
  • J.R. Reardon:  Advice and Consent by Outskirts Press. Her beach read: Clobbered by Camembert by Avery Aames.

Have you made it to one of our Beach Reads events this summer? There’s one coming up in Camden, Maine, on July 31, and another in Mystic, Connecticut, on August 1. See the SINC-NE web site for particulars.

What are you reading this summer? And – I need to know this – do you dare to take your Kindle, Nook, or iPad to the beach? What about getting sand in it?

About Edith Maxwell

Agatha-nominated and national bestsetlling author Edith Maxwell writes the Local Foods Mystery series (Kensington Publishing) and the historical Quaker Midwife Mysteries (Midnight Ink). As Maddie Day she writes the Country Store Mysteries series and the new Cozy Capers Book Group Mysteries (both from Kensington Publishing). Edith has also published award-winning short crime fiction. She lives north of Boston in an antique house with her beau and three cats.
This entry was posted in Book promotion, Edith Maxwell, Marketing, SinCNE, Speakers' Bureau, Writers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beach Reads, Newburyport

  1. J.R. Reardon says:

    What a fabulous event. Great weather, great venue, great people, great friends, great books…who could ask for anything more?

  2. KB Inglee says:

    What a great idea. Come to Delaware.

  3. Edith, I want to know YOUR beach read this year, too. My latest is Heron’s Cove by Carla Neggers, coming out July 31; I also read two by Mala Nunn this summer, very exciting. Since I get sunstroke easily, my fave place to read is on the couch with the windows wide open, a nice safe place for my iPad or book.

    • edithmaxwell says:

      How about all the books by the panel authors and most of their beach read picks?! I was so busy at the event I failed to purchase any of them, but I have Sheila and Avery’s books on the stack at home, for starters.

  4. Barbara Ross says:

    Sounds like a fabulous time. Thank you so much, Edith for organizing it.

  5. Judy C says:

    We had a good time talking about books and a great audience. The Mexican restaurant next door was muy bueno. All in all, a wonderful evening.

  6. Edith, sounds like it was a great event. I’m passing through there from NC on my way to Maine in Sept. with my new English mystery and have contacted Book Rack about a potential reading/signing. I’ll let you know if that works out.
    I have Broken Harbor on my TBR pile and adore the A D Scott series. I’ll be looking for books from your group! And I haven’t had the guts to take my iPad to the beach; I bring paperbacks there …
    Marni Graff

    • edithmaxwell says:

      Marni, do let me know if you’re coming to the Book Rack! I’m having, I mean Tace Baker is having a launch party there on Sept 27 for Speaking of Murder – it’s just a few miles from my house.

Leave a Reply

