Paging My Muse

OK, so the Level Best and Al Blanchard award deadlines are coming up (April 30). Short story. Up to 5000 words. I’ve done this before. I’d like to think I can do it again. But the current state of affairs indicates my muse is dead. Or at best, taking a vacation.

Do you know the feeling? Not the “I have to figure out how she got rid of the gun” feeling, but the “I’ve got nothing” feeling. No spark. No germ of an idea that takes hold. Nothing.

Short stories aren’t easy for me to write. Normally my process includes working on a few ideas, and after 10,000  words I realize what I am writing is not a short story. And it isn’t a novel. It is something that needs to be saved in my folder of half baked ideas.  And so I keep wrestling my muse until it works.

But this time, I haven’t been making time for the muse. I need to respect the process, and the process means being ready.

This TED talk with Elizabeth Gilbert explains this theory. I subscribe to it. I just need to honor it, and be ready.

Who will I see Saturday at the Donald Maass event? Looking forward to it!

About J.A. Hennrikus/Julianne Holmes

J.A. (Julie) Hennrikus writes the Clock Shop Mystery Series under the name Julianne Holmes. JUST KILLING TIME, the first in the series, was published in Oct 2015 and was nominated for a BEST FIRST NOVEL Agatha award. CLOCK AND DAGGER was released in August 2016. CHIME AND PUNISHMENT will be released in August 2017. Julie's Theater Cop series will debut in the fall of 2017. A CHRISTMAS PERIL is the first in this series about an ex-cop who runs a theater company. wears two hats. Her short stories have been published by Level Best Books: “Tag, You’re Dead” in THIN ICE, “Her Wish” in DEAD CALM, and “The Pendulum Swings, Until It Doesn’t” in BLOOD MOON. Julie is an arts administrator and arts advocate. She tweets her writing life as @JHAuthors, and her other life as @JulieHennrikus. She is an avid theater goer and a member of Red Sox nation. Her website is jahennrikus.com, and she blogs with WickedCozyAuthors.com and KillerCharacters.com.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Paging My Muse

  1. Nancy Gardner says:

    Hi Julie, I’ll be there Saturday. And thanks for the link. I identify with the muse-in-hiding. Been reading The Science of Yoga: The Risks and the Rewards by William Broad which has some muse-musings!

  2. barbaraross says:

    I’ll see you Saturday!

    I’ve heard Elizabeth Gilbert before. She’s very self-deprecating as she tells you how to get your life together (and she understands the irony).

  3. patremick says:

    My problem is the muse leaves midway through the process — I’ve got the idea but then … how do I wrap it up nice and neat? Sigh.

Leave a Reply

