Mystery poems and National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month. As a mystery writer and reader, poetry doesn’t enter my mind – unless it’s in a book I’m reading. And I can’t recall any mystery genre books that include poetry. Recipes, sure. Poems? No.

In thinking about today’s post, I had to wonder about that. Are there writers who are considered “mystery poets” out there in the cosmos? I know mystery writers who write flash (very short stories), short, and novel-length stories, but do any of us craft poems that fall into the mystery genre?

Amazingly, yes. And why am I surprised? Writers can write anything!

In Googling (I actually use Bing, but “Binging” doesn’t sound quite right) ‘mystery poem,’ I immediately found the Mystery Poems website. The tagline is Short mystery poems. Poems about mystery and crime. There are 2 poems on the main page, and then a link to where you can search for poems or add your own.

I had no idea this existed until now. And the two poems I’ve read are quite lyrical – and mysterious.

I also found Poetry Soup’s mystery category. This site lists the poems by title, category, form, (sonnet, haiku, free verse, senryu, and more), author, and date posted. Poetry Soup looks like an established community, so if you enjoy writing poems, it might be worth checking out.

And Poem Hunter has over 500 poems with “mystery” in the title.

So, because of National Poetry Month, my commitment to Sisters in Crime, this blog, and the fact that I love mysteries, I’ve now discovered a new outlet for my creativity. I’m assuming my muse will take this information and play with it and eventually I’ll create my own mystery poem.

Have you ever written a mystery poem? Did you know such a thing existed before today?

Lisa Jackson Haselton writer

Lisa J. Jackson is an editor, writer, New England-region journalist, and a year-round iced coffee lover. She writes fiction as Lisa Haselton and has an award-winning blog for book reviews and author interviews. She is on the staff of The Writer’s Chatroom (5-time winner of Writer’s Digest’s 101 Best Websites for Writers) where she moderates guest author chats on Sunday nights. She is a member and part of the national membership subcommittee of Sisters in Crime. She is also a member and membership secretary of the New England Chapter of Sisters in Crime.

About Lisa Haselton

Lisa Haselton has had several short mystery stories published and has a couple of novels in various stages of completion. She always enjoys learning new tidbits about other writers, and takes great pride as an editor when working with writers on polishing their manuscripts. She's living a life around her passions for writing, photography, volunteering, and anything related to New England, particularly New Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Lisa Haselton and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mystery poems and National Poetry Month

  1. Nancy Gardner says:

    Interesting, Lisa! I’m looking forward to reading your mystery poem sometime soon! Never done one myself but I love the music of poetry.

    • Lisa Jackson says:

      I don’t know if I can craft a mystery poem, but I have written one this month and submitted it to my local library. I might even get to read it at an open mic event at the end of the month. 🙂

  2. edithmaxwell says:

    I had no idea! I’ve mostly written love poems to, well, lovers or family members, plus a few goofy limerick sets to honor friend’s anniversaries, big birthdays, or whatever. I’m definitely checking out mystery poems. Thanks, Lisa!

  3. Frank Cook says:

    What fun. Gotta give this a shot.

  4. Patricia Youngblood says:

    Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow! Totally addictive, book length werewolf mystery in blank verse. Sounds obnoxious, but it’s brilliant, funny, horrifying … check out the reviews on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

